25 Key Facts About Uttar Pradesh [4th Largest State]

4 Min Read

25 Key Facts About Uttar Pradesh: Uttar Pradesh or UP is a state in norther India. Lucknow is the state capital and largest city of Uttar Pradesh. On January 24, Uttar Pradesh celebrates its foundation day. Here are the list of 25 key facts about Uttar Pradesh.

25 Key Facts About Uttar Pradesh

1. Uttar Pradesh is a state in norther India. It is also spelled as UP.

2. The total area of Uttar Pradesh is about 243,286 square kilometers.

3. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh. It is also the largest city of Uttar Pradesh.

4. Prayagraj is the judicial capital of Uttar Pradesh.

5. Uttar Pradesh is the most populated state in India.

6. Uttar Pradesh was established in January 24, 1950. It celebrates its foundation day on January 24 every year.

7. Uttar Pradesh is divided into 18 divisions and 75 districts.

8. Uttar Pradesh is bordered by Rajasthan to the west, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi to the northwest, Uttarakhand and an international border with Nepal to the north, Bihar to the east, Madhya Pradesh to the south and also bordered by Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand.

9. Uttar Pradesh is the fourth-largest Indian state by area.

10. Uttar Pradesh has three internal airports: Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport in Lucknow, Lal Bahadur Shastri Airport in Varanasi, and Kushinagar International Airport in Kushinagar.

11. Prayagraj Junction is the headquarters of the North Central Railway.

12. Gorakhpur Railway Station serves as the headquarters of the North Eastern Railway.

13. The High Court of Uttar Pradesh is located in Prayagraj.

14. Hindi is the official language of the Uttar Pradesh.

15. The Taj Mahal is one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It is located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh.

16. Kanpur is a major industrial city in Uttar Pradesh. It is known for its leather and textile industries.

17. Mathura is considered the birthplace of Lord Krishna. It is located in Uttar Pradesh.

18. Ayodhya is considered the birthplace of Lord Rama. It is located in Uttar Pradesh.

19. The Kumbh Mela is a Hindu festival. It is hosted in Prayagraj every 12 years.

20. Gorakhpur is the birthplace of the renowned Hindu saint and philosopher, Gorakhnath. It is located in Uttar Pradesh.

21. The Banaras Hindu University (BHU) in Varanasi is one of the largest residential universities in Asia.

22. Uttar Pradesh was partially or entirely ruled by the Delhi Sultanate for 320 years [1206 – 1526].

23. The Ganga Mahotsav is celebrated 15 days after Diwali. It is a festival of Kartik Purnima.

24. The Taj Mahotsav is held annually at Agra. It is a colorful display of the culture of the Braj area.

25. The popular folk music of Uttar Pradesh are Sohar, Kajari, Ghazal, Thumri, Qawwali, Rasiya, and more.

You can read more about Uttar Pradesh from this link [Read More]. If you like my article, you can join our official Telegram channel for getting latest blog posts notification [Join Now].

Share This Article
By Ravi
I'm Ravi. I'll provide blogs related to UPSC and State PSC/PCS on this site (raviias.com). I write fact based blogs and motivational posts.